Skip to content

The Discipline of Memorizing Scripture

September 13, 2011

How often do you memorise Scripture? Is it a discipline that you practice regularly? I know for myself Scripture memorisation is something that I have allowed to slip over the years. Familiarity with the Scriptures through regular reading and study can be used as my ‘reason’, but in reality I must confess complacency and sloth have contributed in memorisation. As I prepare material for our nurture groups in our church Don Whitney’s book ‘Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life’ has faced me with the importance of re-establishing this discipline in my life. His helpful insights into the importance of memorisation has rekindled a desire to exercise my soul in this way. In being challenged about the discipline of memorising scripture I want you to consider it too. We are in a spiritual war as believers, we need the scriptures to dwell in our hearts and govern our minds. How is your memorisation of Scripture? Are you willing to make time to do it? Are you willing to do it every day? Are you committed to choosing key texts or whole portions of Scripture? If like me you have some repenting to do in this arena, join me in the important discipline of scripture memorisation, choose your own texts and let’s get down to it, knowing that the benefit to our souls will surely be great !

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

