Skip to content

Spiritual Warfare – The Unseen Realm

September 29, 2011

Invitations to preach are always both humbling and challenging, never more so when a title or topic are assigned. I am presently working on a five part series on Spiritual Warfare that has taken me in directions I did not anticipate nor plan. From reading the fascinating accounts of Demon Possession by John L Nevius to wrestling with the insights of Dr Wayne Grudem to working out for myself what I believe the NT actually teaches about Spiritual Warfare I have been and continue to be enjoying this journey.

It is also interesting how the Lord in His providence has ordered my weekly exposition through Revelation to have me contemplating the reality of evil agents and Satanic activity in Revelation 9 and John’s vision of the fifth and sixth angels and their trumpet blasts. There the apostle vividly informs us through apocalyptic vision of the reality of Satan and his agents oppressing the lost world to the point of causing unbelieving men to despair of life itself and those same agentsĀ being responsible for carnage and death throughout the world. How tragic the conclusion of these visions are ! Man in his natural condition of sin remains impenitent and perishing, alienated from God and heading for destruction.

These sobering realities about our world magnify the glory of God in the gospel. What amazing grace has opened my eyes to behold the glory of God in the person and work of Jesus Christ ! Who can stand in the face of such evil forces? Who can survive in a world of such hostile enemies? Man is doomed apart from Jesus Christ ! He has come to destroy the works of the devil and to plunder the strong man’s house. He is leading many sons to glory and how I rejoice that by His grace alone I am one of them! If it were not for the extravagant grace and abundant mercy of God in Christ towards me I know I would have been lost in a hostile world heading for eternal condemnation because of my sin. Praise be to God that the gospel is truly the power of God unto salvation to everyone that believes !

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

